In 2022 Volunteering Australia led the development of Australia’s first National Strategy for Volunteering in a decade. The National Strategy for Volunteering was co-designed by the volunteering ecosystem and provides a blueprint for a reimagined future for volunteering in Australia.

Read or download the National Strategy for Volunteering.

The National Strategy for Volunteering is now in the Establishment Phase, which will involve four key activities:

  • Co-design of the first three-year action plan 
  • Establishment of a governance model 
  • Development of a monitoring and evaluation framework 
  • Development of a model for shared accountability for information. 

Make sure you are subscribed to the National Strategy mailing list to be the first to hear about opportunities to be a part of Establishment Phase activities. 

National Strategy for Volunteering Council

An independent National Strategy for Volunteering Council has been established to provide strategic oversight to the National Strategy, its establishment and ongoing implementation. The role of the Council is to ensure the National Strategy for Volunteering and associated projects are progressed to a high standard and meets their objectives.

Council members include:

  • Doug Taylor (Chair) CEO, The Smith Family
  • Grainne O’Loughlin CEO, Karitane
  • Craig Spencer Regional Manager Wheatbelt, St John Ambulance
  • Dr Pam Kappelides Senior Lecturer, La Trobe University
  • Tina Williams CEO, Volunteering WA
  • Darryl Ebenezer Executive Officer, Queensland Water and Land Carers
  • Joanne Watson Group Executive Director of Supporter Engagement, Save the Children
  • Kelly Howlett AM Board Director, Western Australian Waste Authority
  • Mark Pearce CEO, Volunteering Australia
  • Madeline Townsend OAM People and Culture Manager, Beyond Zero Emissions
  • Matthew Calf Senior Manager – Industry Projects, Australian Sports Commission
  • Darcy W-R LGBTIQA+ advocacy
  • Rachael Bowker Darwin Community Legal Service

Research Working Group

The Research Working Group has been established to ensure the implementation of the National Strategy for Volunteering is well informed by research and to act as an advisory body for associated research.

The Research Working Group includes:

  • Dr Toby Newstead University of Tasmania
  • Calista Castles Griffith University
  • Dr Darja Kragt University of Western Australia
  • Dr Rachel Winterton La Trobe University
  • Professor Bingqin Li University of New South Wales
  • Professor Kirsten Holmes Curtin University
  • Heba Al-Adawy Volunteering Australia
  • Samuel Delamoir Volunteering Queensland
  • Clare Sutton Charles Sturt University
  • Dr Rong Zhu Flinders University
  • Dr Ben Hillier The Centre for Volunteering
  • Dr Lewis Whales University of Technology Sydney
  • Dr Eunjung Kim Edith Cowan University